29
Dec
09

Back Like I Never Left.

Not like anyone really gives a fuck, but I’d like to apologize for slacking on the soundtrack. The past week has probably been one of the most whirlwind of my life. Between supernatural encounters, a new shawty in my life, preparing 5-year-olds for a Christmas show, and icing out with international celebrity DJs, I’ve had trouble finding time for bloggin. Consider this a catch-up.

Dim Makin’

This past weekend, Dim Mak CEO and electro music pioneer Steve Aoki, rolled through Taipei City for a performance at Luxy. With party photographer Mark Hunter in tow, Aoki had the packed house sloppy and sweaty with a plethora of banging club hits. Though the music falls outside of my typical tastes, the genre is slowly growing on me and it was a fucking wild party. Check out Aoki’s remix of Kid Cudi’s “Pursuit of Happiness” below (or search YouTube) if you are unfamiliar with the product.

It was also a great opportunity for the 1ncoming Magazine fam (who I am currently doing some English editing and composition for) to holler at a couple of the scene’s true pioneers and tastemakers. When I was approached about doing a the interviews, I quickly agreed and got on my research grind. Thanks to the humility and approachability of Kid Millionaire and The Cobrasnake, both sessions went really well. The video of interview should be available soon, and I’ll let ya’ll know when it is. For now, peep The Cobrasnake’s photos of the event and his time exploring TPE. And keep an eye out from a couple cameos from your humble narrator and Steve dipped in 1ncoming’s exclusive “We (HEART) Taiwan” design.


thecobrasnake.com – Off The Deep End (The Party)


thecobrasnake.com – Taiwan Adventure

Special thanks to the Godfather at 1ncoming (that’s him snapping back in the second photo), the ladies at Dancing Through Sunday, and Steve and Mark for bringing all of this together. Support Dim Mak. Big tings.

Jay Elec-Hanukkah


Jay Electronica – “Exhibit C” (prod. Just Blaze) (Right-Click, Save As… to DL)

*Hands in late pass.*

This one has been floating around for a while, but after reading Just Blaze’s plea to stop piracy, I wanted to give everyone a chance to get this one through legal means (iTunes?) before I put it up. But if you love hip-hop, you NEED this in your life. Consider it a late Christmas gift. Track of the year? Definitely a strong candidate. This makes me a) miss Just Blaze being so productive in the game and b) crave more from Jay (fuck it, Hov or Electronica is hoooe-kay with me). A follow-up to the super-dope “Exhibit A (Transfomations),” Jus’ lays an indisputable banger for Jay to lay his appropriately monotone wordplay. Dudes are simultaneously taking it back to the essence and taking hip-hop to new places. Certified Grade A product.

Backpackers Delight

Statik Selektah f/ Talib Kweli, Termanology, and Royce the 5’9 – “Come Around”

And I leave you with a really dope cut from a new project from Statik Selektah in conjucntion with Reflection Eternal. Here, the Beantown Boss brings together a trio of my favorite lyricits from a variety of levels of the game. First up, Talib Kweli reps for the concious heads, followed by one of my favorite up-and-comers (no homo) Termanology, and Royce the 5’9 running the anchor leg and proving why he is one of the best and most underrated emcees to ever pick up the mic. Not to be outdone, Statik does a nice job on the production. But it’s the lyricism that shines here. Be on the lookout for Statik’s Re:Union Mixtape.

Props: Spine

I’d also like to let you know that my “Best of the Decade” feature will continue. With the aforementioned things poppin’ off in my life, it’s become more of a monthly project instead of a weekly thing. But 2002 should be coming soon.

Until next time.

0 Responses to “Back Like I Never Left.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

