06
Jul
10

Over My Head.


In my quest to bring you the latest and greatest in the hip-hop world, I have found myself passing over the work of some established favorites. The Legendary Roots Crew released their ninth (!) studio album titled How I Got Over last week, and the product is really, really good. I’m going to go out on a limb and say it is probably the best Roots release since Phrenology back in ’02. Black Thought, ?uestlove, and the crew, along with a slew of well-selected guests, come through with another bold yet cohesive effort, incorporating elements from damn near every musical genre found at your local record store and mashing them up to create a sound that is simultaneously progressive and traditional. Sounds like an oxymoron, I know. Just listen to the selection below, featuring appearances by two personal favorites Blu and Phonte, and you’ll understand.

My only complaint? The album checks in at just over 42 minutes. Do I Want More?!!!??!! Hell yeah I do. And truss: you will, too.

DOWNLOAD: The Roots f/ Phonte x Blu x Patty Crash – “The Day”

0 Responses to “Over My Head.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

